Rupert Thomson

Rupert Thomson is the author of eight highly acclaimed novels: Dreams of Leaving, The Five Gates of Hell, Air and Fire, The Insult, Soft, The Book of Revelation, Divided Kingdom and most recently, Death of a Murderer, which was shortlisted for the Costa Novel of the Year Award and by World Book Day for the Book to Talk About 2008. His memoir, This Party's Got to Stop won him the Writers' Guild Non-Fiction Award. He lives in London with his wife and daughter.

Books by Rupert Thomson


Published: January 2014

A sculptor of the macabre. A sorcerer of wax. A criminal. A runaway. Zummo is exactly what the last great Medici ruler of Florence needs.


Published: March 2013

A novel of intrigue, love and murder set in 17th century Florence, from one of the UK's greatest writers.

This Party's Got to Stop

Published: June 2011

A powerful memoir that reveals the fragility of family life in graphic and often heartbreaking detail.

Back to Authors List