Kim Kane

KIM KANE was born in London in a bed bequeathed by Wordsworth for '...a writer, a dancer or a poet'. Despite this auspicious beginning, she went on to practise law. Kim's picture book Family Forest was shortlisted for the 2011 Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Awards. The Vegetable Ark was a 2011 CBCA Notable Book in two categories. Kim's first novel, Pip: the story of Olive, won the 2008 Barbara Ramsden Award and was shortlisted for the 2009 Australian Book Industry Awards and the Speech Pathology Australian awards. Kim lives with her family in Melbourne. She writes whenever and wherever she can.

Books by Kim Kane

When the Lyrebird Calls

Published: October 2016

A time-slip novel in which Madeleine finds herself transported back to 1900 Australia, where she befriends a family of girls and is witness to a family secret and a family tragedy.

Esther's Rainbow

Published: April 2015

A delightful picture book about exploring colour, from two award-winning creators.

Pip: The Story of Olive

Published: April 2008

A fabulous new voice and a gem of a novel. Kim Kane's ruthless depiction of the pecking order in a girls' school is both hilarious and startling in its honesty.

Back to Authors List