Marion Halligan

1 halligan marian


Marion Halligan was born in Newcastle and grew up by the sea. She is rather surprised to find herself living in Canberra, instead of on the coast. She always believed she was going to be a writer, though took a while to get started. Halligan has now published some twenty books (including a children's book, The Midwife's Daughters) and has written short stories, articles, book reviews and essays for various publications. She believes fiction illuminates our lives, and for this reason she loves to read it as well as write it. Her most recent book is Shooting the Fox.

Books by Marion Halligan

Goodbye Sweetheart

Published: March 2015

From the author of Valley of Grace comes a powerful novel of love, the desire for understanding, and the inevitable messiness of life.

Shooting the Fox

Published: June 2011

On love and loss, sex and death, food and gardening . a new collection by Australia's most assured short-story writer.

Valley of Grace

Published: March 2009

Much loved, award-winning author returns with a lyrical work full of hope and children set in modern-day Paris.

Murder on the Apricot Coast

Published: March 2008

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the bestselling The Apricot Colonel is another charming novel of fruit preserving, cross-dressing . . . and murder. Cosy crime at its very best.

The Apricot Colonel

Published: February 2006

Marion Halligan at her lighthearted and wryly humorous best in a tale of mystery and murder, of beauty and yearning, and of a surprising love.

The Taste of Memory

Published: September 2004

A delightful, witty, humorous and serious book about the way we live now, as expressed in our relationship with food and gardens.

The Point

Published: July 2004

A beautifully crafted novel about appetite, desire and murder from award-winning writer Marion Halligan.

The Fog Garden

Published: April 2002

A moving and eloquent novel that has confirmed Marion Halligan's status as one of Australia's finest writers.

Back to Authors List