Scot Gardner

Scot wasn't born reading and writing; in fact he left school in year eleven to undertake an apprenticeship in gardening with the local council. His first fiction for young readers, One Dead Seagull, was published after he attended a writing conference with John Marsden. His many books since include Burning Eddy, which was short-listed for both the CBCA and NSW Premier's Literary awards.

Scot lives with his wife and three children, two dogs and some chooks in the bush in Eastern Victoria. He spends half the year writing and half the year on the road talking to mostly young people about his books and the craft of writing.

Books by Scot Gardner

Off the Map

Published: March 2021

By turns dark and light, funny and poignant, this unforgettable collection of stories takes us right to the heart of what it means to be young in today's world, from a CBCA award-winning author.

Changing Gear

Published: May 2018

The vivid story of a teenage boy and the road trip that clears his head and his heart.


Published: July 2017

An exceptional and compelling novel from one of Australia's most acclaimed and much-loved authors.

The Way We Roll

Published: February 2016

From the author of the award-winning The Dead I Know comes an urban 'bromance' with an unexpected twist, featuring a boy from the upper end of town who finds refuge and friendship pushing trolleys at the local supermarket and avoiding a troubling secret in his own past.

The Dead I Know

Published: May 2011

Aaron Rowe has dreams he can't explain, and memories he can't recover. But if he doesn't discover the truth about his hidden past soon, he may fall asleep one night and never wake up. A potent, intense, psychodrama that will keep you gripped to the very last page.

Happy as Larry

Published: June 2010

The not-so-ordinary life of a boy named Larry, set against the great events of the world.

The Detachable Boy

Published: June 2008

A fast and funny adventure about a kid who can detach his limbs, send them off independently, and then reassemble himself at will.

Back to Authors List