Alan Bennett

Alan Bennett has been one of the UK's leading dramatists since the success of Beyond the Fringe in the 1960s.

His television series Talking Heads has become a modern-day classic, as have many of his works for the stage including Forty Years On, The Lady in the Van, A Question of Attribution, The Madness of George III (together with the Oscar-nominated screenplay The Madness of King George), and an adaptation of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows. At the National Theatre, London, The History Boys won numerous awards including Evening Standard and Critics' Circle awards for Best Play, an Olivier for Best New Play and the South Bank Award. On Broadway, The History Boys won five New York Drama Desk Awards, four Outer Critics' Circle Awards, a New York Drama Critics' Award, a New York Drama League Award and six Tonys. The Habit of Art opened at the National in 2009; in 2012, People, as well as the two short plays Hymn and Cocktail Sticks, was also staged there. His collection of prose Untold Stories won the PEN/Ackerley Prize for autobiography, 2006. Recent works of fiction are The Uncommon Reader and Smut: Two Unseemly Stories.

Books by Alan Bennett


Published: October 2014

A richly enjoyable play by one of the nation's finest writers.

Writing Home

Published: October 2014

A wonderfully entertaining collection of Alan Bennett's writings, and the companion volume to Untold Stories.


Published: April 2012

Unexpected tales from the master of short fiction.

The Habit of Art

Published: January 2010

Alan Bennett's first play since the runaway international success of The History Boys.

History Boys Film tie-in

Published: December 2006

Includes Alan Bennett's diary, the shooting script, over 40 photographs and an introduction by Nicholas Hytner, director of the film.

Four Stories

Published: November 2006

Here are Alan Bennett's four hugely admired, triumphantly reviewed and bestselling stories, brought together in one book for the first time

Untold Stories

Published: October 2006

The astonishing sequel to Alan Bennett's classic Writing Home, updated for paperback.

Back to Authors List