Thea Astley

Thea Astley


Thea Astley was born in Brisbane in 1925 and studied at the University of Queensland. She taught in schools in Queensland and New South Wales, then at Macquarie University in Sydney between 1968 and 1980.

The author of fourteen novels, two novellas and two short-story collections, she won the Miles Franklin Award four times, for The Well Dressed Explorer (1962), The Slow Natives (1965), The Acolyte (1972) and Drylands (2000), which was also nominated for the 2001 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. The Multiple Effects of Rainshadow was nominated for the 1997 Miles Franklin Award, and in 1989 she was awarded the Patrick White Award for services to Australian literature. In 1992 she became an Officer in the Order of Australia, and received a special award at the 2002 NSW Premier's Literary Awards for lifetime achievement. She died in 2004.

Books by Thea Astley

A Boat Load of Home Folk

Published: December 2012

Only the force of a hurricane could reveal the deepest currents of their ordinary lives.

The Slow Natives

Published: December 2012

Thea Astley is in top form in this 1965 Miles Franklin Award winner.

Girl with a Monkey

Published: December 2012

Thea Astley's first novel, back in print.


Published: June 2012

Thea Astley's brilliant satire on old age shimmers with grief and irony. One of Australia's most important novelists, Thea Astley, is at her most wickedly funny and pertinent in Coda.

Back to Authors List